OIQ 8 – The Doc

I was sitting in the doctor’s office, just observing and watching and letting my imagination wander and I got thinking…what if this wasn’t a doctors office? What if it was…..was…something Else. AND THUS, we have this weeks OIQ.

You’re sitting in the doctors office, waiting to be seen for whatever you’re there for. But what if you weren’t there for that? What if it wasn’t a doctors office at all?

OIQs are simple fun things where you get to flex your creative engines!


Imagine sitting in a waiting room to see someone. Who/What are you waiting for and why?


Dan’s OIA (A is for answer)

(yes, I wrote most of this while actually at the doctor’s office for my arm.)

Having your own people must mean you’re important. And let me tell you, Barbatha Goro was important. This lady had her little minions zipping in and out, filing forms and leading people to special rooms where they would await for her to stop by.

It was like she was some special seer, and the people“You’re not open?” One said…That surrounded me in the waiting room“Dammit, it’s 1 o’clock.” Defiantly needed some help.

But I wasn’t here for to get wisdom from her magic powers. No no no, I needed her help with getting the blue prints to the highest prison in the world. See, not everyone could pay the steep fines Barbatha charged, so instead of gold they’d pay in rare items, like how the warden of Geric prison traded the blueprints that I know intended to steal. You see, my brother had been wrongly convicted of a crime he didn’t commit, and now had a life in prison to serve.

My name was finally called and I was brought back into a smaller room, one with a few chairs and a stiff couch-chair thing. It was oddly cold, the walls having been show little love of art and the interior decorator clearly showing little care of comfort. But at least it wasn’t the first waiting dungeon, and I didn’t have to hear people talk to themselves about the recipes they think sounded good. (literally happened.)

You’d think they could have made this place a little homier. I mean man, an actual couch would be nice. Maybe a fish tank toopeople like fish tanks (especially ones with lots of cool fishies.)

But I remained waiting…

And waiting

And waiting…

And waiting…

And waiting

And waiting

And waiting

………..and waiting

Aaaaaannnnddddd waiting.

Did some more waiting

With extra waiting

Wait

Ing

Ing

Wait

Tiaw gni

Gnitiaw

And waited

And waited

And waited

And waited some more

Still waited

Wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wit wait wait wait wait wait wiat wiat wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wiat wiat wait wait waited wait wait wait wait wait wait wait my thumbs hurt wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wiat wait wait wait wait wit wait wait wait wait waisting wait wait wait wait wait wait wc

(I sat there typing on my phone until the doctor walked in.)

AND THEN FINALLY, AFTER NEARLY DYING (over dramatic i know but sersly.) She walked in.

Causal talking was simple and she bought story about wanting to know the location of the rouge assassin who framed my brother in exchange for the magic beens I had at home. You see, Barbatha’s gift was that she could locate anyone in the world within several minutes.

She took the name and I took my opportunity, because my gift was knowing the layout of the building before I walked in (this was months in planning.)

Barbatha’s office was on the top floor, through the library, and guarded by one nothing less than the magic books she beheld.

Reaching the top floor was easy, but it was the library where I had some trouble. (if you didn’t know the story derailed, it did. This did not happen in real life…We’ve pretty much derailed from an OIQ at this point. I don’t expect anyone to put this much thought into one but I’m going for it.)

Because to my knowledge, those eledged magic books were just books. But no. No they weren’t.

Dozens of angry spines of paper hurled themselves at me at the first cry of intruder. Papers fluttered and burst as I smacked away what I could but one can only take so much Aristotle. The door seemed like chapters (hehe. pun.) away as I flailed my arms in horror. But, amazingly enough, the books ran out of energy before I did. That or magic. Because they all flopped to the ground without another page to turn.

Luck or not, I was able to open—kick the door down. And there it was…That grand mahogany desk forged from some forest somewhere in the world. 

And atop it.

THE MAP.


KEEP READING…


Leave a Reply

