Throne of Glass Book Review

I FINISHED IT! Sorry this took so long, my schedule has been utterly crazy! But, alas, onto what’s important here!

Throne-of-glass-cover

BOOK BIO: 

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.


***WARNING! THIS DOES CONTAIN SPOILERS!***


Okay, first off, I loved it. Who doesn’t like to hear that. As of right now, being one book deep in a six book series, I would recommend it. It was engaging and fun and the writing is so freaking beautiful I had to reread things sometimes just for the sake of hearing that again.

As far as story, plot, characters, and what not, I’m breaking it down like this:

PROS

  • It was incredibly dynamic with lots of plot lines going on consecutively and coherently. Everything flowed together as far as what was happening and the world around them. I enjoyed the subtleties of mentioning names of all the other places like The Witch Kingdom and the different forests and things such as that. Right off the bat I wanted to learn more about those and wondered when the characters would be traveling to those places and what they would encounter.
  • The language, again, beautiful. So clever, so descriptive and super fresh–too me. I felt like sometimes the way she described things may have been frowned upon by an editor or a fancy-fancy pretentious reader, but that only made me like it even more. She was creative in the way she described things and I got the vibe that she felt if it sounded right to her she believed it would make sense to her readers.
  • I almost shat myself a few times. Reading in the dark when the Ridderak was talked about and champions are showing up dead, that got to me. It was awesome.
  • The world. I loved it. I want to know more about it though. I felt trapped in the glass palace like Celaena the whole time with only whispers of the outside world. I would have liked a little insight, maybe from the POV of another character about the other regions. Granted, I know that will come in the later books.

DISLIKES: (Not cons, just things I did’t like as much.)

  • The characters. OKAY OKAY CALM YOUR SPAZMS. I loved the characters, don’t get me wrong, I liked all of them. But I had a few issues with them all as well.
    • First off, Celaena. The main issue I had with her, was that she’s some GREAT and AWESOME and LEGENDARY assassin, and yet, SHE NEVER KILLS ANYONE ONCE! We only hear of the times Celaena has slain someone–we never actually witness it. It’s like she’s almost a ghost story. A myth. A cover up. I hated that–the entire time I was like when is she actually going to show off and prove herself. I know this sounds rather dark like I’m sitting her wishing for bloodshed, but I just started to get skeptical of Celaena because I only heard of the things she’d done. Like I’d heard of free slurpy day at 7-11. The other problem that I had with her was that she was this killing machine, and her internal thoughts were so harsh off the bat, yet her actions conflicted them, followed by her internal thoughts then conflicting themselves. It’s a small thing, but it was rather frustrating–and not frustrating because I wanted her to pursue something more than the other, frustrating because it makes her look like a psychopath. She’d be all murder mode one moment and then all ‘Oh his eyes I could drown in them’ on a dime. It was a little jaring, but it’s a small thing and over all I still rooted for her and loved her.
  • Chaol.          Okay. Get the screams out. You good? Nope? There’s more? Okay………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Can I-k. ………………………………………………………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….  OKAY. Yes. Chaol was awesome and a great guy and kind while also being playful and funny and obviously him and Celaena are gonna end up together or something like that or he’s gonna die idk. But the biggest urk (whatever) I had with him, was that (are you ready for this) he’s a push over! What I mean by that is that he’s THE CAPTAIN OF THE FREAKING GUARD TO THE MOST POWERFUL KING IN ALL THE LAND AND HE BASICALLY GOES INTO A SHUTTER SHOCK AFTER KILLING CAIN. HE’D NEVER KILLED ANYONE?!?!?!?!??!?!??!?!?!??! AND HE’S THE MOTHEjoagjwop;dgjsgao;lkgjao;dljha CAPTAIN OF THE GUARD?!?!?! What’s the requirement to be a guard? Uh, hey, can you hold this spear? Yeah, that’ll do.

You’re protecting the most powerful leader, assigning teams for him and watching his palace and yet, you’ve never actually killed anyone. I’m sorry but I just don’t buy it. Not when The King is such a brute. He would not have soft-hand Chaol as his Captain–I’d expect someone like Cain to be his Captain. Just saying. It’s not so much a character flaw as it is a concept flaw–IN MY OPINION. I would imagine you don’t get to Captain by fancy sword twirls and daddy’s pocket book, I feel like that title is earned through proving yourself as a protector.

Anyways,

  • Dorian: Eh, I loved em. He was funny and very believable.

And in a nut shell, I really enjoyed it and I already ordered Crown of Midnight, if that tells ya anything!

4/5 Stars

Buy the Book on Amazon –>

4 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Book Review

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! I know it gets kind of contradictory that Celaena has this big and bad reputation yet is never seen killing anyone. But you’ll see it, trust me. This first book just kind of shows how damaged Celaena is from her time in Endovier, its a development that happens over time (in this case, 3 books).
    And I know what you mean about Chaol not ever having killed anyone before Cain. I was like, WHAAAAT?! And then I was like, “poor Chaol, cheer up buddy!”
    But I am so glad to see that you enjoyed it and you will hopefully be blown away by Crown of Midnight – I was, anyway.

Leave a Reply

