What Makes Something Stand ut?

This is a post for both myself and anyone else looking to gain information from it. In a blog, or a book, or article, movie, TV show, picture–what stands out? What makes people stop and say “hmm, I want to look at this a little longer”?

I’d like to hear all of your thoughts one what makes you stop and look at one thing over something else.

For me, here’s ways to make something stand out:

1. Have a picture with it. If you’re posting a blog, or sharing your book, or telling me about a show or movie, make sure there’s a picture. Colors catch my eye and if the picture is cool I’m more inclined to keep reading. I can’t tell you how many times I just scroll past text filled things because nothing catches my eye and makes me want to stop.

2. Humor. If your blog or tweet or whatever it is makes me laugh, I’m gonna read more. If it’s just blah and here’s my book buy it because it’s good like John Green or Harry Potter. It’s free, does that help? No? Okay. Now, I am guilty of this myself. Countless times I put out lame ass tweets just promoting my book and they get little recognition. But check out this tweet, although it had nothing to do with book, look at the publicity it brought for my blog. Humor is one of our most valuable tools and is defiantly something I’m going to try and incorporate more.

3. Short. Now, I know this post is contradictory to this, but bear with me. Short is usually better, IN MY OPINION. If a blog is more than 1,000 words, I’m probably gonna keep scrolling. If it’s short, right to the point, and easy to read, I’m more likely to read it.

4. Ratings/Comments. Feedback is huge. Wether it’s positive or negative, feedback is major. Likes, comments, retweets, favorites. Look at the film The Interview. Everyone’s heard of it. It was all over the news! Yeah, it was funny, but the reviews were not threw the roof but everyone still checked it out. Why? Because it had reviews. It had comments. It had likes and retweets and it got the attention of some big name people by doing something unorthodox. It pissed someone off! It fired shots to get attentions. Now I’m not saying to go piss someone off to get attention, but asking people to look at your stuff helps more than you’d think. Even if it feels like the 12 hours of promotional asking you just did did absolutely nothing, it will. A lot of the feedback business is a slow investment business. You have to do a massive amount of work and you see little results until the snow ball gets barreling. Currently, this is where I’m at. Getting people to look at my stuff. It’s hard and frustrating and takes a long freaking time. Like a long freaking time! It sucks! I’m trying to think of new ways to get people to take a look at my stuff because the one by one asking process takes forever and is exhausting. For all of you who have given public feedback on my stuff, thank you. From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU. You guys rock. Go buy yourself an doughnut or something.

5. Are Meme’s dying? Now I know, meme’s are still really popular. But are the mainstream ones dying? Are they way too overused? Is the market over saturated with them? I think so. I think they’re dying. The meme popularity explosion was a few years ago but now with smart phones and everything, they’ve become less common among the average person and more common among marketing companies. And everyone loves marketing companies right? Like we just can’t wait to hear what they have to sell us and why the Dos Equis guy is interested in their product and no one else?  See what I’m saying. The major user of meme’s is people promoting something now. Thus why I see it as a sinking ship.

Now I’d like to hear your thoughts. Do you agree? Disagree? Have any suggestions or other ideas? Let me know your thoughts. Or I’ll just talk to the friends in my head because none of you probably read this.

– Daniel Waltz

Leave a Reply

